Bonbini Curacao
strand Curacao
Willemstad Curacao
duiken Curacao
natuur Curacao
baai van Lagun, Curacao
The weather on Curacao

Weather Curacao


Curacao is a tropical island located in the southern part of the Caribbean Sea. This, together with Bonaire, and Aruba, Leeward Islands, also called the ABC islands. Curaçao is these three islands with 472 square miles the largest operating surface. Curaçao consists of the island of Curacao and the island of Klein Curacao, which is 10 kilometer from the east coast. The highest point is Mount Saint Christoffel in 375 meter. The island consists of coral limestone and volcanic rock.

Surface Curaçao
plattegrond CuracaoHet chart measuring about 64 kilometer from northwest to southeast, between the other ABC islands, Aruba and Bonaire to the west to the east. At its widest point is 16 kilometer wide Curacao.
The north coast of Curacao is rough and rocky, with high golven.Langs the south coast are golden beaches, eleven kilometers long in total, in the lee of the island itself.

Curaçao has excellent public roads. In good condition and well marked. You will not easily get lost anyway but that is difficult on an island where the coast never more than 8 kilometer away lies. The south coast consists of bays and coves and long beaches stretching to the west.
Here live the most of Curacao's 130,000 residents.

North Coast
On the north coast is a constant, strong wind. The coastline of limestone rock formations on one surface of volcanic rock, is fierce and wild. Here are some small villages interspersed with kand houses of the old plantations. The western tip of the island consists of vast hilly area that largely belongs to the Christoffel Park.
This National Park covers 1820 hectares and includes among others Christopher Mount, a 377 meter, Curaçao's highest point.

East Point
baai curacaoDe bay east point of Curaçao is flat and barren with some small roads leading to small coves.
With an average rainfall of 510 mm per year, is a dry island of Curaçao. The water on the island is also provided by a large desalination plant on the south coast.

The capital is Willemstad. Over the years, this city throughout the area around the large natural harbor, the Schottegat, to cover. Thus, many villages that together were first grown separately to a large urban area. The city covers about one third of the island in the East. The most famous districts of Willemstad are:

  • Punda, the historical downtown Handelskade to the St. Anna Bay
  • Otrobanda, located on the other side of St. Anna Bay
  • Juliana Village, around 1928 commissioned by Shell to build its staff
  • Saliña, located at Punda and has many shops and restaurants